1000s of concurrent timed tasks with akka serverless

Hi,

Really been enjoying having a go with akka serverless recently - it’s very refreshing to have a neat programming model where you don’t have to faff about setting up infrastructure for storing state!

Please forgive my ignorance if this has an easy solution as I’m basically brand new to Akka and Akka serveless.

Anyways, I have a use case where I have 100s and maybe 1000s of IoT devices, and I want to create an alarm if no data is received for a set period of time, lets say 10 minutes.

The ways I can think of to do this in non-akka java, would be to:

1. Use something like ScheduledExecutorService or TimerTask from pure java 11, or perhaps something from rxjava timer or interval, something like Vert.x timer, or Spring’s scheduledTimerTask, and get the timers to run after the 10 minutes, and check whether data has been received.
  2. Constantly iterate over a list of times/instants, checking whether they are less than 10 minutes after the last seen data.
  3. Use a proper library for doing scheduling like quartz, or even more involved, using something like temporal with akka serverless just forming the “services” that you call out to in your workflows.

I realise I could implement one of the above points in Akka serverless, but I’d probably have to do some kind of side-effect thing - return the response and leave the service running, and not sure whether that is intended?

I have even tried the following dumb code, and it seems to work:

ScheduledExecutorService executor;

private void waitUntil(Instant deadline) throws InterruptedException {
    while(Instant.now().isBefore(deadline)){
      synchronized(deadline){
        executor.schedule(
                ()->{
                  System.out.println("Waiting until" + deadline.toString());
                  synchronized(deadline){
                    deadline.notifyAll();
                  }
                },