Akka Persistence and efficient querying for potential target Actor

Hello,

I am currently evaluating Akka with Akka Persistence for new project in our company. I am new to DDD and builiding Microservices the reactive way (with actors and without), but I like what I have seen so far.

As of now, I have worked through the IoT example as well as the platform guide with the shopping cart and am now trying to build a minimal proof-of-concept with only a few commands / events and a single EventSourcedBehaviour.

At the moment, I am a bit lost how to implement a specfic requirement with Akka Persistence; one that is actually beautifully showcased in the IoT example. For illustration purposes, I have also created a small tactical design diagram (see attachment).

In summary, I need to:

• Be able to receive a lot (millions) of events of type ‘Part received’ from an external system within a very short time (eg during inital setup for a new customer). They are ‘Parts (Entity)’ of a ‘Device (RootEntity)’. Parts can reference each other and basically form a unidirectonal graph. Parts are received in random order. There can also be a lot of devices (lets say also a few 100k up to a million).
  • When I receive a part I need to be able to ask if there is already a ‘Device’ that contains a ‘Part’ that is referenced from the incoming ‘Part’. If yes the incoming ‘Part’ should be attached to the device. If no, the incoming ‘Part’ should create a new ‘Device’ and attach itself to it.
  • I need strong consistency for all of this.

So my question would be how to actually implement this efficient ‘ask-if-there-is-a-Device-Actor-that-should-handle-this’ with Akka Persistence and EventSourcedBehaviour. I am pretty sure I am missing something very obvious here.

What I have checked so far: