Akka persistence for stateful actors - jobmanager -> jobs

TL;DR:
I have a service that runs fine right now but does not have persistence. I’m a noob to akka and I’m trying to find a good tutorial/example to use to learn how persistence works. The ones I did find from the docs don’t really help. If someone can point me to a sample that is more that can run on it’s on (not just in a unit test) and doesn’t require installing a horde of other technologies that would be great. Even better would be if it includes a mgr/children where the mgr holds actorrefs to the children (similar to the chatroom example without persistence here: Introduction to Actors • Akka Documentation ) that would be even better. I’m working in scala but java docs/examples would still help a lot if there aren’t good scala ones available.
TIA

Long Version:
My current version of my service runs fine but if the server goes down all current state is lost. I need to add persistence. My service basically has job manager actor gets requests with a jobId and if a request is type START it spawns a new child job actor that has a long running process. Any other requests and messages are routed to the child job actor for that jobId. I do this similar to the chat room example ( Introduction to Actors • Akka Documentation ) where the manager has state of a Map jobId → ActorRef. The job actors also have their own state object that would need to be persisted. First off I’m really confused what my “pre-reqs” are besides akka. Do I need akka-cluster and clustersharding? akka-projections? akka-platform? Any direction someone can point to for where I should start would be great.

Some things I’m confused about: