Akka Persistence - ORA-00942: table or view does not exist

Hello,

I am new to everything Akka. I’ve setup a POC project/app with Akka Persistence with an Oracle DB instance.

When I run the Akka app, I get the following error:

akka.persistence.typed.internal.JournalFailureException: Exception during recovery from snapshot. PersistenceId [SomeActor|some-actor-01]. ORA-00942: table or view does not exist

Can someone help understand how to have Akka P auto generate the tables? or point me to some documentation :pray:t4:

Thanks in advance,
Rafael

Use SchemaUtils
https://doc.akka.io/docs/akka-persistence-jdbc/current/configuration.html#database-schema

Note that it is not recommended to auto-generate tables for production environments.

1 Like

Thanks @johanandren !

Once I ran the oracle-create-schemal.sql script, I kept getting the same error. Weird. So I decided to turn on DEBUG level log in logback.xml which made me realize this is the prepared statement which is causing the error:

[2021-04-07 09:49:16,897] [DEBUG] [slick.jdbc.JdbcBackend.statement] [slick.db-1] - Preparing statement: select s94.s68, s94.s64, s94.s67, s94.s65, s94.s69, s94.s66, s94.s62, s94.s63, s94.s70 from (select “meta_ser_id” as s62, “meta_ser_manifest” as s63, “sequence_number” as s64, “snapshot_ser_id” as s65, “snapshot_payload” as s66, “created” as s67, “persistence_id” as s68, “snapshot_ser_manifest” as s69, “meta_payload” as s70 from “snapshot” where “persistence_id” = ? order by “sequence_number” desc) s94 where rownum <= 1

If you compare the oracle-create-schema.sql file to the prepared statement above, it seems the create schema script is using SNAPSHOT as the name of the table/view where as the Akka app is referencing snapshot. I am wondering if the difference in case has something to do with this error?