Alpakka MQTT Streaming: Performance problem

Hi everyone,

first of all: I’m new to Akka streams and Alpakka…

I’m implementing an application which receives sensor measurement data via bluetooth from a sensor node and then sends this data via Alpakka MQTT streaming to a MQTT broker.
About between 60-80 sensor values are received per second.

I have a running setup which used the Eclipse Paho based implementation. This setup meets my performance demands.

Now I wanted to try out the MQTT streaming implementation and face a performance issue.
I used the example code:

val settings = MqttSessionSettings()
	val session = ActorMqttClientSession(settings)
	val connection = Tcp().outgoingConnection("brokerIPAddress", 1883)
	val mqttFlow: Flow[Command[Nothing], Either[MqttCodec.DecodeError, Event[Nothing]], NotUsed] =
		Mqtt
			.clientSessionFlow(session, ByteString("1"))
			.join(connection)
	val (commands: SourceQueueWithComplete[Command[Nothing]], events: Future[Publish]) =
		Source
			.queue(8, OverflowStrategy.dropHead)
			.via(mqttFlow)
			.collect {
				case Right(Event(p: Publish, _)) => p
			}.async
			.toMat(Sink.head)(Keep.both)
			.run()

Messages are sent as described in the docs:

session ! Command(Publish(ControlPacketFlags.RETAIN | ControlPacketFlags.QoSAtLeastOnceDelivery, "sensors/temperature", ByteString(temp)))

But compared to the Paho based implementation only half of the messages get delivered to the broker.
The queue seems to be filled almost immediately and many messages are dropped.
The underlying transport seems to be quite slow and I don’t know how I could improve the performance.

I was trying to increase the queue size to gargantous sizes and tried out different OverflowStrategies but the problem remains.

Any help is highly appreciated :slight_smile:

Kind regards,
Jan

Hi Jan,

even a large buffer can be quickly filled up by a tight loop sending messages to the queue.