Fault tolerance best practise

Hi,
I want to run a stream in an actor and make that fault tolerant on a cluster. What are the best practices for that?
Akka sharding sounds promising but then the automatic rebalancing is an issue as this would interrupt my stream.
At this point, I have a hand crafted master / worker approach. Where I create workers with a ClusterRouterPool / AdaptiveLoadBalancingPool as the idea was to pick a node in the cluster with low load. When one of my stream nodes is terminated I increase the pool size and assign the new worker the stream that failed. However, I run into a big https://github.com/akka/akka/issues/25385 and learned that AdaptiveLoadBalancingPool is changing the size of the pool dynamically what is not documented.

Any suggestions are welcome.
Thank you.
Stefan

Sorry, my bad stating that, the AdaptiveLoadBalancing doesn’t do any dynamic resizing, except for when you remove and add nodes to the cluster.

If automatic rebalance would be problematic with your stream, what do you do when a new node is added to your cluster, or you need to remove the node a stream is running on, or when a node have crashed?

Additionally choosing the right node™ to run a stream on is trickier than choosing the right node to run a small:ish workload on, since a stream is in general long lived, imagine five requests coming at roughly the same time, all seeing node N having low load and starting long lived streams on that node.

Best might be to make sure you have a way to shard requests fairly on some identifier/property of the request.