Inconsistency with subscriber service and parallelism levels

I have a subscriber service which listens on Kafka topic for events.
It takes those events, and transforms them to commands for my entity.

val parallelism = 16

kafkaProxy.dataTopic.subscribe.atLeastOnce(
    Flow[Data]
      .flatMapConcat(data => Source(groupBySession(data)))
      .mapAsyncUnordered(parallelism)(sd => entityRefFor(sd.entityId).ask(RecordSessionData(sd.sessionId, sd)))
  )

groupBySession is basically

list.groupBy(_.session).map(/* wrap to domain type */).toList

I also have a read side, which reacts on events generated by my service which reacts to these commands.

When I publish data to Kafka (20 sessions), depending on parallelism levels, only a portion of sessions is actually processed.

For example, with parallelism level 16, 18 sessions are processed and recorded.
With 4, 6 sessions.
With 1, 3 sessions.
With 32, all 20 sessions.

I am running it in dev mode (via sbt lagom:runAll).
I also have another Lagom service subscribed to the same Kafka topic, but with different group id.

service1/src/main/application.conf

akka.kafka.consumer {
  kafka-clients {
    group.id = "service-1-group"
  }
}

service2/src/main/application.conf

akka.kafka.consumer {
  kafka-clients {
    group.id = "service-2-group"
  }
}

Am I doing something wrong here? Could someone shed some light?

Lagom’s Kafka subscriber assumes that you’re going to emit exactly one Done for each incoming element, and relies on this assumption to correctly align and commit the Kafka offset. Using flatMapConcat is therefore unsafe, as you’ll end up with more output elements than input elements and you’ll commit offsets that you haven’t successfully processed yet.