How to deploy Actor APIs?

Hi there, I build my API using Actors and Scala. How should I go about deploying it. I have it containerized in docker.

Extremely happy to be at a step where I am ready to showcase my Akka application to the world!. Please share your thoughts, tips and pitfalls.

It really depends on what you are deploying and to where.

For a cluster based application, I’d start here: Deploying Akka Cluster to Kubernetes • Akka Management

I see, I have no experience with Akka Cluster. As of now my API is built on Persistent Actors, Akka Typed and Akka HTTP.

Thanks @davidogren I will look into it.

I mean if it’s just a single container (and you’ve already containerized it) then just deploy your Akka container however and wherever you already deploy containers. i.e. via docker, podman, or Kubernetes. Where do you need help?

I am unsure about what provider I should go for @davidogren. Also, since it’s my first time deploying are there any pitfalls or mistakes that I should avoid or crucial information that I must know.

Thank you for your help.

If you are deploying a single container, and you are just exposing your API as REST APIs, it’s just a container like any other. The platform that runs the container doesn’t even know anything about the contents of the container, or that you wrote it in Akka. If you are looking to run a container in the cloud, basically every cloud provider provides that kind of service: Cloud Run for Google, for example. Or ECS for AWS.

Pitfalls or mistakes? It’s hard to say without knowing more about your application and your level of experience. The three things that come to mind are:

• If you are using persistence, what is your persistence plugin? If it’s local to your container, you’ll need to figure out storage. Using a managed database might be easier though. (Because not having backups of your database is certainly a common pitfall.)